Our Team

The MSFA board is comprised of five commissioners: Chair Michael Vekich, Commissioner Angela Burns Finney, and Commissioner Tony Sertich were appointed by the governor of Minnesota and Commissioner Bill McCarthy and Commissioner Sharon Sayles Belton were appointed by the mayor of the city of Minneapolis. Commissioners serve four-year terms beginning January 1. The chair serves at the pleasure of the governor. The board makes policies for the administration of the MSFA, and it appoints an Executive Director to act as the administrative head of the MSFA. The Executive Director serves at the pleasure of the board, carries out the policies established by the board, directs business and administrative procedures, and recommends personnel to be appointed by the board.


Michael Vekich

Michael Vekich, Chair

Michael Vekich has served as the Chair of the Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority, the governing board that represents the State of Minnesota’s ownership and oversight of U.S. Bank Stadium, since July 2017. Chair Vekich is an experienced senior executive known for innovative and effective leadership of complex organizations with a proven track record of providing business and financial counsel. Also known as Minnesota’s “go to guy.” He has consistently demonstrated expertise in strategic planning, finance, compliance, governance, succession planning and resource alignment. In addition to his leadership and guidance of the Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority, Chair Vekich also serves as the Chair of the Board of Trustees, Minnesota State Colleges and Universities; CEO, Vekich Chartered; Chair of BNCCorp and BNC National Bank and providing leadership through other private and not-for-profit boards. He previously served as President/Chair the Bank Holding Company Association, and twice as the Acting Director of the Minnesota Lottery and Chair of the Minnesota Board of Accountancy. Vekich earned his degree from the University of Minnesota.


Bill McCarthy

Bill McCarthy

Bill McCarthy is a Minneapolis native, a Vietnam War veteran and a University of Minnesota alumnus. He joined Hotel Employees & Restaurant Employees Local 17 in 1985, became a business representative and then was elected president of the local. In 2002, Bill was elected President of the Minneapolis Regional Labor Federation; the largest central labor body in the state. After serving as Minneapolis RLF President for more than 13 years, Bill McCarthy was elected President of the Minnesota AFL-CIO in 2015. Additionally, Bill serves on the Board of Directors for the Greater Twin Cities United Way. In March 2012, Bill was named as the winner of a national United Way award for labor leadership, the Joseph A. Beirne Community Services Award. Bill is a board member of Meet Minneapolis, Convention + Visitors Association, which works to market, sell and maximize the visitor experience of Minneapolis for the economic benefit of our community.

Bill is committed to organizing, mobilizing and reaching out to community allies in order to build partnerships and create jobs that can sustain a family and strong communities.


Sharon Sayles Belton

Sharon Sayles Belton currently serves as the V.P. Strategic Partnerships and Alliances at Thomson Reuters, Government. Her responsibilities include the development and management of private sector partnerships that serves Government Customers, and management of key government legal and law enforcement trade associations. She also provides oversight and management of community engagement and employee volunteerism in key locations.          

Prior to joining Thomson Reuters, Sayles Belton served as director of Community Relations and Corporate Philanthropy at GMAC Financial Services. While at GMAC, Sayles Belton co-founded a nationwide foreclosure prevention program.

Sayles Belton served as mayor of Minneapolis, MN., from 1994 to 2001. She was the first woman and first African American to be elected mayor. During her time in office, she achieved national recognition as an expert on public/private partnerships in public safety, neighborhood revitalization, and economic development. She served on the Minneapolis City Council for 10 years (1984-1994) and was council president from 1990-1994. Sayles Belton began her career with the Minnesota Department of Corrections as a probation and parole agent, and later served as the Assistant Director of the Minnesota Program for Victims of Sexual Assault.

She is a board member at Head Start, Parents in Community Action, Vice Chair of Twin Cities Habitat for Humanity, the co-founder of Homeownership Preservation Foundation, the co-founder of Harriet Tubman Shelter for Battered Women, the co-founder of National Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NCASA), the recipient of the American Association for Affirmative Action Rosa Parks Award, and the recipient of the National Bar Association Gertrude Rush Distinguish Service Award.

Sayles Belton completed the program for Senior Executives at John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University in 1986, attended Macalester College in St. Paul, MN in 1973, and received an Honorary Doctorate in Humane Letters from Walden University in 2003.


Tony Sertich

Tony Sertich

Tony Sertich is the President of the Northland Foundation—a rural non-profit in northeastern Minnesota. The Northland Foundation is a resource for people, businesses and communities in Northeast Minnesota working toward prosperity through economic and social justice. Through grant making and programmatic activities, the foundation focuses on youth and families, seniors, self-reliance, leadership and small business development.

Sertich spent over a decade in elective office in the Minnesota House of Representatives. At the age of 32, he became the youngest Majority Leader in the state’s history. Sertich served in Governor Mark Dayton’s cabinet as the commissioner of the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board—a rural economic development agency. Sertich has been an instructor in the University of Minnesota Duluth’s Master of Advocacy and Political Leadership program and has a lengthy list of board service experience, including with the Duluth Seaway Port Authority, UMD’s Natural Resources Research Institute and the Center for Rural Policy and Development.



Angela Burns Finney

Angela Burns Finney is a marketing professional with a career that spans over 20 years across private, public and nonprofit sectors. Angela has managed marketing and advertising for small business owners, authors, artists and several local nonprofits including Greater Twin Cities United Way, Big Brothers Big Sisters, and Minnesota Children's Museum. Most recently, she directed the creative vision and developed strategic marketing/communications plans for both Dakota County Technical College and Inver Hills Community College. Angela is currently focused on strategy & business development for PwC's tax practices in Minneapolis, St. Louis, and Kansas City.

A St. Paul native, Angela was raised in the Rondo Community and infused with a generational legacy in community service. She proudly serves as vice chair for Summit-University Planning Council; and as a board member for the YWCA St. Paul, the City of St. Paul's Neighborhood STAR program, and the Minnesota Sports Facilities Authority. Angela is committed to creating opportunities and shaping communities where people can thrive!


Ben Jay, Executive Director
612-335-3315; ben.jay@msfa.com

Mary Fox-Stroman, CPA, Director of Finance
612-335-3311; mary.fox-stroman@msfa.com

Sue Arcand, Accountant
612-335-3317; sue.arcand@msfa.com